Bringing Good Habits to Life

This is a call to everyone who has their heart set on getting something done.  Maybe it’s something that you’ve never done before.  Maybe it’s something that you’ve been trying to do for a long time and just haven’t had the motivation to complete.  Whether it’s a small job or a large undertaking, there’s absolutely nothing you can’t accomplish.

 

For the CC followers, I promised an update about the weight loss after a strong week of training.  The long and short of it is, I finished the week 3 pounds lighter.  My goal weight is still a ways out, but this puts me on track to achieve it by the end of the year, which I’ve said for awhile was the ultimate goal.  18 pounds to go, and by my count, 19 weeks until 2014.  Difficult, but doable.

 

Improving myself has always been a weakness of mine.  It’s so easy to say “I’ll get to it tomorrow” and then put that quote on repeat for days/months/years.  If you’re like me, you’ve probably tried a few times to lose some pounds, but eventually you get to the point where it gets difficult and you give up.  Don’t worry.  You’re not alone.  I’ve been there, and I know that there are millions of people like us who have been there before.  Now I’m no expert on self-improvement, so instead of pretending like I am, I’ll share with you what has worked for me so far.  I’d love to hear the thoughts and opinions of others, too, so feel free to write them in the comments section.

 

What’s worked for me:

A) Setting one goal that’s moderately difficult, but achievable.  In the past, I’ve overwhelmed myself with all these things I have to get done by a certain time.  It stresses me out to the point where the motivation declines, and once that happens, it’s game over.  One goal, however, is much less stressful for me.  I stopped flooding myself with “lift 4 times a week, run 3 times a week, lose 30 pounds, eat better” and turned it into “lose 30 pounds… doesn’t matter how, and it doesn’t always have to be the same way… just do it!”

B) Keep track of foods to the point of obsession.  This may not work for everyone, but I’ll be honest, I try to the best of my ability to log every food item on the menu.  It makes me feel like I have much more control over obtaining my goal.

C) Writing about it and receiving support.  The CC community has been a fantastic support group.  Being able to hear inspiring stories has been an incredible motivation boost.  I want to succeed and want others to be successful, too.  The general promotion of that team spirit goes a really long way.

D) Getting back to working out.  It used to be fun, then it started becoming a chore.  I’m trying to make it fun again.

E) And this is the important one.  Do whatever is necessary to keep you motivated.  A song, a punching bag, a movie quote… there are many different sources of inspirational motivation.  Find the one that you like and keep it on hand when the going gets tough.

 

Besides the weight loss, this blog has been another recent accomplishment.  Even as an introvert, I love to entertain and to be entertained.  A few years back, I did a bit of side work as a talk radio DJ, and dabbled into it again earlier this year on blogtalkradio.com.  While that medium has always appealed to me, I wanted a place to express more creativity with the freedom to get into a wider variety of topics.  For some reason, starting this blog was difficult for me.  What do I call it?  Are people going to visit?  Will this really be entertaining?  But I guess something finally clicked inside me to put all of the doubts aside and just go for it.

 

And that’s where the good habits can be brought to life.  Make a choice, right now, to overcome your doubts and start doing what you want to do.  Start living the life that you want to live.  Set a goal and make it happen.  Get excited about your goal, and get excited about what the future has to offer once you reach it.

2 thoughts on “Bringing Good Habits to Life

  1. Congratulations- 3 lbs in one week is amazing! How many weeks in are you? I agree completely with your list- it’s affirming to read someone else seeing it the same way. My question is this: If we are narrowing our focus to weight loss right now, what happens when we reach goal weight? If our goal-reaching-focus moves to something new, like being a generous person or whatnot, how can we also give our focus to not regaining the weight back again? It’s something I’m a little concerned about. I’m pretty close to my goal weight, but don’t want to put in the amount of time I have been on CC after I’ve reached goal. Anyway, just my rambling thoughts in response to your inspiring post. Love the blog, btw.

    • Thanks so much for the comment and thanks for the support. I always love to hear feedback and different opinions about a topic. I’m a little under a month in, and my target was to lose about 30 pounds. Right now my focus is on weight loss, but that doesn’t necessarily mean shutting out other things as well. The example you brought up was weight loss in comparison with being a generous person. The two can go hand in hand. A long time ago, when I was in my younger days, I was part of a project to help rebuild a home for a lady who wasn’t as mobile as she used to be. The workout and the generosity in that case went hand in hand.

      What I’m hoping, though, is that the good habits that we’ve built on will start to become second nature. Although I’ve only been at the weight loss for less than a month, I’ve noticed that I am starting to make better choices without giving it as much thought as I did 4 weeks ago. While there’s always a chance of slight regression, it’ll be at those times where remembering the good habits will be most important.

Leave a Reply

