Do Short Workouts Really Work?

Today’s words of wisdom come from none other than the man, the myth, the legend; Rocky Balboa.

“Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody, is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit, it’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward; how much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done! Now if you know what you’re worth then go out and get what you’re worth, but you gotta be willing to take the hits, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t what you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody! Cowards do that and that ain’t you! You’re better than that!”

 

Damn straight, Rocky.  Damn straight.

 

How many times have you gotten home later than you expected and, unfortunately, you only have 15 minutes before you have to start making dinner or (insert any kind of home chore here).  What if you don’t have general access to a workout facility?  Having traveled to a very wide variety of countries and having stayed in a wider variety of hotels, I can say that workout facilities in hotels are not as common as you’d think, and sometimes the term “gym” to a hotel actually means a 6×6 room with a TV and a stationary bike from 1972.  The point is that we’re not always going to get the most ideal conditions when we want to stay active.

 

A friend of mine who travels a lot recommended “The Scientific 7-Minute Workout“, and it seems to be fantastic for the on-the-go traveler who has no access to a gym or any type of workout equipment.  I don’t travel too much anymore, but I decided to try it out.  Don’t be fooled by the fact that it’s only 12 simple exercises for 30 seconds each (with 10 second breaks in between).  This routine is a bear.  I don’t think I realized how painful the “Wall Sit” was until about 20 seconds in, and to go from that to push-ups and then to crunches burns your abs.  What I like about this workout is that it’s quick and it can be done in any location; even in the comfort of your own hotel room.  It’s easy to get into a routine when you go to the gym.  When I go to the gym, I have a normal weightlifting routine that usually takes me around an hour.  I still do that, but I’ve included this workout as part of the normal regimen.  This will make it much more comfortable if I’m ever away from the weights, and I will still feel as though I can have a successful workout.

 

If you’re a frequent traveler, or just want to get a good workout in wherever you are, give this a shot.  I think you’ll find that when you do it, it won’t completely wind you, but it’ll get you to work up a small sweat.  Once that’s accomplished, do it again, and maybe one more time for good measure.  You’ll be glad you did.

2 thoughts on “Do Short Workouts Really Work?

  1. I love this; it’s perfect this for this weeks’ trip! Since I am going with another woman, I didn’t think there would be time to do a meaningful workout, but 7 minutes? There are no excuses. Excellent resource, thanks Sharkstopper!

    • Anytime Hazel! I did my normal lifting routine and then two sets of the 7-Minute Workout. I was feeling the burn after the first one… the second one was really rough. Time was the only reason I didn’t try to knock out a third. Good luck! I’m rooting for ya!

Leave a Reply

